Summer Recreation Program Information

Decorah Parks and Recreation began offering recreation programs Monday, June 15. Current program offerings are listed below.

Programs July 13-16: Registration due Thursday, July 9

Survival Camp: Each day of survival camp will test and grow your survival skills. The week will include: shelter building, foraging for food in the forest, water survival 101, and fire making. This program is open to participants just finishing 1st-7th grade.

Tennis: This program is open to those that just finished 2nd-7th grade. Tennis is a great sport for all ages! Join our staff and learn the basics or improve your game by learning more advanced skills. Classes are limited to 8 participants and two staff.

Programs July 13-16: Registration due July 9

Critter Camp: Join us for a week of investigating the creepy crawly cuddly critters around us. Each day we will focus on different groups of animals exploring their habitats and adaptations. We will investigate a pond, river, forest, and prairie to see what we can find and learn. Location will change daily and participants should be ready to walk or explore in the water. This program is open to participants just finishing 1st-7th grade.

Tennis: This program is open to those that just finished 1st-7th grade. Tennis is a great sport for all ages! Join our staff and learn the basics or improve your game by learning more advanced skills. Classes are limited to 8 participants and two staff.

It is preferred that all registration be completed online. If this is not possible registration may be completed in the Park-Rec Office. Please note, masks must be worn when entering the Decorah Municipal Building and the Decorah Parks & Recreation Office. 

Like us on Facebook to stay up to date with all of the latest Park-Rec news and information.

Decorah Parks and Recreation is committed to the health and safety of its staff and program participants. Due to COVID-19 additional precautions are in place including, but not limited to reducing class sizes, daily temperature checks for staff and participants, a short daily questionnaire regarding the health and well-being of each staff and participant, and staff wearing masks when providing first aid or in close contact with each other, participants, and the public.

The Decorah Parks and Recreation Department will not offer summer programs for children in Kindergarten and younger. This decision was made due to the difficulty of maintaining social distancing and personal space with children in this age group.

Decorah Parks and Recreation plans to offer a shortened baseball and softball season in July. More information regarding baseball and softball will be released once decisions regarding those programs are finalized later this month.

The 2020 spring soccer season was suspended in March due to COVID-19. The department continues to postpone soccer as a result of the players’ close proximity playing. As long as COVID-19 conditions allow, Decorah Park-Rec hopes to be able to make up this season weekday evenings in August following the completion of baseball and softball.

At this time, registration for summer programs will be taken online and on a week to week basis so that necessary adjustments to programming can be made should the need arise due to COVID-19.

Decorah Parks & Recreation: COVID-19 Activities from a Distance

Below are some fun activities to do at home with your kids! We will update these activities regularly.

Tuesday, June 2

Backyard water fun

Monday, June 1

Have you heard of #DecorahRocks? Start your adventure today by painting some rocks and then head out on the trails to hide the rocks you’ve painted and look for those others have hidden.

Painted Rocks

Thursday, May 28

Hallway Bowling, Sock Skating, Toilet Paper Tube Crafts

Wednesday, May 27

Fun with Dirt & Mud

Tuesday, May 26

Water Tub Fun

Friday, May 22

Clipart photo of family camping in backyard

Wednesday, May 20

Hiking Scavenger HUnt

Monday, May 18

Math & Anemometer

Friday, May 15

Participate in Decorah Trail Bingo and you are sure to enjoy hours of exercise on Decorah’s trails and will be entered in a drawing to win chamber dollars.

Selfie on Decorah Trail

Thursday, May 14

Drive in Movie

Tuesday, May 12

Bugs & Birds

Monday, May 11

Challenge yourself to run, jog or walk a 10k today (or kids 1 mile)! Click here to submit your time to be eligible for a prize. Awards to first place male and female. All participants eligible for drawing prizes.

Virtual Race Series

Friday, May 8

Go for a hike,
Run your own race,
Ride your bike,
Enjoy your favorite outdoor space.

Twin Springs Park

Thursday, May 7

Shadow Art

Wednesday, May 6

Backyard Obstacle Course & Nature Collage

Tuesday, May 5

Teacher Appreciation Day

Monday, May 4

Star Wars based activites

Friday, May 1

sign post in woods

Participate in Decorah Trail Bingo! Explore Decorah trails, parks and scenic overlooks for your chance to win Chamber Dollars.

Trail Bingo is free and open to families and individuals of all ages. Click here for a complete list of instructions and to access your Trail Bingo card.

Thursday, April 30

Science, scavenger hunt & workout

Wednesday, April 29

International Dance Day

Tuesday, April 28

National Superhero Day

Monday, April 27

Outdoor Activities

Friday, April 24

Celebrate Arbor Day!

Arbor Day Activities

Thursday, April 23

Happy National Volunteer Week!

Mary Lewis is one of our many volunteers. Mary has been working to remove invasive species in the parks. Thank you Mary!

You can make a difference in our parks by picking up trash, moving sticks off of trails, and picking up after your dog. If you would like more information about volunteering in the parks please contact us via Facebook or give our office a call (563-382-4158).

Photo of volunteer in park

Wednesday, April 22

Earth Day

Scavenger Hunt

Tuesday, April 21

Lace up your shoes and join us for our virtual race series. Prizes for first place finishers. All participants eligible for drawing prizes. Free and fun for everyone! Click here for more information. 

Virtual Race Series

Monday, April 20

Driveway Tic-Tac-Toe, Listening Walk, Pinecone Bird Feeder

Friday, April 17

Participate in Explore Decorah for your chance to win an individual or family season pool pass for the summer!

overlook of city of decorah

Thursday, April 16

Outdoor Scavenger Hunt

Wednesday, April 15

Science with Rocks

Tuesday, April 14

Click here to access your printable COVID-19 Time Capsule. 

Create a Time Capsule

Monday, April 13

Build your own mini-golf course. Click here for ideas & instructions.

Friday, April 10

Decorah: Stronger Together

Thursday, April 9

National Unicorn Day

Wednesday, April 8

Ideas for kids to sort, build and recycle

Tuesday, April 7

Observe the night sky

Monday, April 6

Participate in the Decorah Egg Hunt. 

Boy decorating Easter eggs in windwo

Friday, April 3

Activities for kids: be an airplane, build an airplane, flight school

Thursday, April 2

Activities for kids: Play outside, sidewalk chalk chutes & ladders, build a rain guage

Wednesday, April 1 – National Walking Day

Find some time to take a walk and explore Decorah.

Trail surrounded by pine trees

Tuesday, March 31

Activities for kids: Color scavenger hunt, nature walk & outdoor art

Monday, March 30

3 photos of parks & trails in Decorah

Join us in our Explore Decorah adventure for your chance to win an individual or family season pool pass for the summer. For more information click here.

Friday, March 27

Decorate your sidewalk, driveway, etc. with chalk, and brighten someone’s day.

Chalk the Walk

Thursday, March 26

Challenging youth to build a park model

Wednesday, March 25

List of activities for kids

Tuesday, March 24

Photo of trees and trail

Monday, March 23

List of possible outdoor activities for kids

Friday, March 20 

March 20 is National Flour Day, list of ideas to do with kids related to that day

Thursday, March 19

3:15pm: Join us live on our Facebook page and dance along with Laurie Walter and Crave Dance Studio!

Slide of ideas to do on a rainy day

 

Wednesday, March 18

Photo with list of ideas of activities for children to do at home.

 

Register for Summer Programs & Activities Delayed

Decorah Parks and Recreation is delaying the start of summer registration for swim lessons and recreational activities until further notice. The department is following the orders of Governor Reynolds and the direction of the City of Decorah, Winneshiek County Public Health, the Iowa Department of Public Health and the Center for Disease Control and Prevention.

Decorah Park-Rec continues to serve residents by maintaining its parks, green space and trails system, offering Activities from a Distance for kids and families to do at home and providing outdoor challenges to the community including the Decorah Trail Bingo scavenger hunt.

This website and the Decorah Parks and Recreatoin Facebook page will be updated regularly.

Spring Program Registration

Decorah Parks & Recreation is accepting registrations for the spring programs listed below.

Soccer (ages 3 thru 7th grade)

Active in the Outdoors (grades Kindergarten thru 2nd)

Easter Egg Hunt (ages 8 & under)

School’s Out, We’re In (ages 5 thru 8)

Live Healthy Iowa Kids Track Championship (ages 7 thru 14)

Taekwondo (ages 4 & up)

Softball Leagues (adult men’s & coed slowpitch)

Registration can be completed online  or in the Park-Rec Office. For additional information please call the Decorah Parks & Recreation Office at 563-382-4158.

Ice Rink Closed for the Season

The ice rink closed for the season Sunday, February 23. We hope you enjoyed skating and encourage you to continue to explore our parks & trails and the snow melts and everything dries out.

 

Superhero Sunday – February 23

Young boy dressed as superman

 

Decorah Parks & Recreation is hosting its third annual Superhero Sunday!

Children are invited to come dressed to impress as their favorite superhero and join us for this open house event Sunday, February 23, from noon to 2:00 pm in the Carrie Lee Gym. Superhero Sunday will feature games, crafts, and an opportunity to meet some of the local heroes who keep our town safe. No pre-registration will be taken for this event, but participants will be asked to sign in when they arrive. Children must be accompanied by an adult. Please use the gym entrance just south of the Middle School on Winnebago Street. If wet or snowy please bring a change of shoes.