Decorah Parks & Recreation receives mini-grant to host Iowa Healthiest State Walk Wednesday, October 7

Decorah Parks and Recreation is hosting a walk as part of the Iowa Healthiest State 10th Annual Walk Wednesday, October 7, 2020!

Register and participate in this free event by following the instructions below to be eligible to win a drawing prize. 

1. Register your walk to be eligible for drawing prizes

2. Choose your route & walk for at least 30 minutes on October 7

Route #1: Dug Road to 5th Ave (2.7 miles)

Route #2: Decorah Community Prairie (30 minutes)

Route #3: Ice Cave Road to River Trail (around 2 miles)

Route #4: Your choice! Choose your own route & walk for at least 30 minutes

3. Send a photo of you on your walk to parkrec@decorahia.org

Mini Grant Recipient

Decorah Parks & Recreation is hosting this event for the first time and has been named a recipient of the 2020 Iowa Parks & Recreation Association Community Walk Mini Grant in partnership with the Healthiest Sate Initiative.  Decorah is one of four grant recipients throughout the state of Iowa. 

Free Saturday Yoga in the Park

Decorah Parks and Recreation is partnering with local yoga instructors to offer Free Yoga in the Park Saturdays, July 25-September 26, 10-11am in the green space west of John Cline School. Bring your own mat or towel. No need to register, just show up!

A complete list of dates and instructors are included below.

July 25: Libby Abbas with Reefuel

August 1: Olivia Schnur

August 8: Odette Bruneau

August 15: Laura Ollendick with The Healing Shack & Reefuel

August 22: Mikah Jaschke with Root to Rise Community Yoga

August 29: Molly Gallagher with Yoga Room

September 5: Mikah Jaschke with Root to Rise Community Yoga

September 12: No Yoga in the Park

September 19: Odette Bruneau

September 26: Bethany Shroyer

Upon arrival participants will be asked to sign a liability waiver and confirm that they;

  1. Do not have a fever, cough, sore throat, shortness of breath, new loss of taste or smell, or any other COVID-19 like symptoms now or in the past 48 hours.
  2. Have not had close contact (within 6 feet for equal or greater than a 10-minute period of time or living in your household) with a person who has been diagnosed with COVID-19 by a medical provider in the past 14 days.
  3. Have not been diagnosed with COVID-19 by a medical provider in the past 14 days.
  4. Have not been told by a medical provider or public health official within the last 14 days to self-quarantine due to potential COVID-19 exposure or been suspected of having COVID-19.

Participants are asked to socially distance while participating in Yoga in the Park.

Decorah Parks & Recreation: COVID-19 Activities from a Distance

Below are some fun activities to do at home with your kids! We will update these activities regularly.

Tuesday, June 2

Backyard water fun

Monday, June 1

Have you heard of #DecorahRocks? Start your adventure today by painting some rocks and then head out on the trails to hide the rocks you’ve painted and look for those others have hidden.

Painted Rocks

Thursday, May 28

Hallway Bowling, Sock Skating, Toilet Paper Tube Crafts

Wednesday, May 27

Fun with Dirt & Mud

Tuesday, May 26

Water Tub Fun

Friday, May 22

Clipart photo of family camping in backyard

Wednesday, May 20

Hiking Scavenger HUnt

Monday, May 18

Math & Anemometer

Friday, May 15

Participate in Decorah Trail Bingo and you are sure to enjoy hours of exercise on Decorah’s trails and will be entered in a drawing to win chamber dollars.

Selfie on Decorah Trail

Thursday, May 14

Drive in Movie

Tuesday, May 12

Bugs & Birds

Monday, May 11

Challenge yourself to run, jog or walk a 10k today (or kids 1 mile)! Click here to submit your time to be eligible for a prize. Awards to first place male and female. All participants eligible for drawing prizes.

Virtual Race Series

Friday, May 8

Go for a hike,
Run your own race,
Ride your bike,
Enjoy your favorite outdoor space.

Twin Springs Park

Thursday, May 7

Shadow Art

Wednesday, May 6

Backyard Obstacle Course & Nature Collage

Tuesday, May 5

Teacher Appreciation Day

Monday, May 4

Star Wars based activites

Friday, May 1

sign post in woods

Participate in Decorah Trail Bingo! Explore Decorah trails, parks and scenic overlooks for your chance to win Chamber Dollars.

Trail Bingo is free and open to families and individuals of all ages. Click here for a complete list of instructions and to access your Trail Bingo card.

Thursday, April 30

Science, scavenger hunt & workout

Wednesday, April 29

International Dance Day

Tuesday, April 28

National Superhero Day

Monday, April 27

Outdoor Activities

Friday, April 24

Celebrate Arbor Day!

Arbor Day Activities

Thursday, April 23

Happy National Volunteer Week!

Mary Lewis is one of our many volunteers. Mary has been working to remove invasive species in the parks. Thank you Mary!

You can make a difference in our parks by picking up trash, moving sticks off of trails, and picking up after your dog. If you would like more information about volunteering in the parks please contact us via Facebook or give our office a call (563-382-4158).

Photo of volunteer in park

Wednesday, April 22

Earth Day

Scavenger Hunt

Tuesday, April 21

Lace up your shoes and join us for our virtual race series. Prizes for first place finishers. All participants eligible for drawing prizes. Free and fun for everyone! Click here for more information. 

Virtual Race Series

Monday, April 20

Driveway Tic-Tac-Toe, Listening Walk, Pinecone Bird Feeder

Friday, April 17

Participate in Explore Decorah for your chance to win an individual or family season pool pass for the summer!

overlook of city of decorah

Thursday, April 16

Outdoor Scavenger Hunt

Wednesday, April 15

Science with Rocks

Tuesday, April 14

Click here to access your printable COVID-19 Time Capsule. 

Create a Time Capsule

Monday, April 13

Build your own mini-golf course. Click here for ideas & instructions.

Friday, April 10

Decorah: Stronger Together

Thursday, April 9

National Unicorn Day

Wednesday, April 8

Ideas for kids to sort, build and recycle

Tuesday, April 7

Observe the night sky

Monday, April 6

Participate in the Decorah Egg Hunt. 

Boy decorating Easter eggs in windwo

Friday, April 3

Activities for kids: be an airplane, build an airplane, flight school

Thursday, April 2

Activities for kids: Play outside, sidewalk chalk chutes & ladders, build a rain guage

Wednesday, April 1 – National Walking Day

Find some time to take a walk and explore Decorah.

Trail surrounded by pine trees

Tuesday, March 31

Activities for kids: Color scavenger hunt, nature walk & outdoor art

Monday, March 30

3 photos of parks & trails in Decorah

Join us in our Explore Decorah adventure for your chance to win an individual or family season pool pass for the summer. For more information click here.

Friday, March 27

Decorate your sidewalk, driveway, etc. with chalk, and brighten someone’s day.

Chalk the Walk

Thursday, March 26

Challenging youth to build a park model

Wednesday, March 25

List of activities for kids

Tuesday, March 24

Photo of trees and trail

Monday, March 23

List of possible outdoor activities for kids

Friday, March 20 

March 20 is National Flour Day, list of ideas to do with kids related to that day

Thursday, March 19

3:15pm: Join us live on our Facebook page and dance along with Laurie Walter and Crave Dance Studio!

Slide of ideas to do on a rainy day

 

Wednesday, March 18

Photo with list of ideas of activities for children to do at home.

 

Register for Summer Programs & Activities Delayed

Decorah Parks and Recreation is delaying the start of summer registration for swim lessons and recreational activities until further notice. The department is following the orders of Governor Reynolds and the direction of the City of Decorah, Winneshiek County Public Health, the Iowa Department of Public Health and the Center for Disease Control and Prevention.

Decorah Park-Rec continues to serve residents by maintaining its parks, green space and trails system, offering Activities from a Distance for kids and families to do at home and providing outdoor challenges to the community including the Decorah Trail Bingo scavenger hunt.

This website and the Decorah Parks and Recreatoin Facebook page will be updated regularly.

Spring Program Registration

Decorah Parks & Recreation is accepting registrations for the spring programs listed below.

Soccer (ages 3 thru 7th grade)

Active in the Outdoors (grades Kindergarten thru 2nd)

Easter Egg Hunt (ages 8 & under)

School’s Out, We’re In (ages 5 thru 8)

Live Healthy Iowa Kids Track Championship (ages 7 thru 14)

Taekwondo (ages 4 & up)

Softball Leagues (adult men’s & coed slowpitch)

Registration can be completed online  or in the Park-Rec Office. For additional information please call the Decorah Parks & Recreation Office at 563-382-4158.

Ice Rink Closed for the Season

The ice rink closed for the season Sunday, February 23. We hope you enjoyed skating and encourage you to continue to explore our parks & trails and the snow melts and everything dries out.

 

Superhero Sunday – February 23

Young boy dressed as superman

 

Decorah Parks & Recreation is hosting its third annual Superhero Sunday!

Children are invited to come dressed to impress as their favorite superhero and join us for this open house event Sunday, February 23, from noon to 2:00 pm in the Carrie Lee Gym. Superhero Sunday will feature games, crafts, and an opportunity to meet some of the local heroes who keep our town safe. No pre-registration will be taken for this event, but participants will be asked to sign in when they arrive. Children must be accompanied by an adult. Please use the gym entrance just south of the Middle School on Winnebago Street. If wet or snowy please bring a change of shoes.